Outstanding work by two of our former MA students

September 26, 2023
Edvard Aviles Meza (Philosophy, Cornell University) won the William James Prize of the Society of Philosophy and Psychology for his talk "Imagination without Awareness."

Winners of the 2023 Outstanding Academic Achievement Award

June 21, 2023

Every year, CEU awards its students who achieve the best GPA for their coursework in their program. Congratulations to Ludovica Medaglia and Bálint Békefi who got the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award 2023 in philosophy!

CEU Philosophy led project "Knowledge in Crisis" wins 9 million euro Cluster of Excellence

March 13, 2023
The Board of Directors of the Knowledge in Crisis project

On March 13, the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) announced five Austrian research projects selected for major funding under the Clusters of Excellence initiative "excellent=austria".

The Knowledge in Crisis research cluster, headed by Tim Crane from CEU’s Department of Philosophy was awarded €8.9 million from the FWF, and with institutional funding added, will dispose over 15 million euro in the course of 5 years.

PhD award winners 2023

February 22, 2023

We are delighted to announce that the University Doctoral Committee has awarded the achievements of the following doctoral philosophy students.

Advanced PhD Award

Hongkai Yin

Laszlo Koszeghy

First-Year PhD Award

Emanuele Tullio


These doctoral awards recognize outstanding performance in research in the case of advanced students, and in coursework and comprehensive exams in the case of first-year students.



Successful Defense of Ruben Noorloos

December 21, 2022

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce the successful defense of the PhD Dissertation by

Ruben Noorloos
Mind-Body Parallelism and Spinoza’s Philosophy of Mind

Members of the Defense Committee:

Supervisor: Michael Griffin (CEU) 

External examiner: Martin Lin (Rutgers University) 

Internal Examiner: Katalin Farkas (CEU) 

Chair: Hanoch Ben-Yami (CEU) 

The defense was held on 15 December 2022.

Congratulations, Dr. Noorloos!