Academic Calendar 2016/17

AUGUST 2016
Aug 20, Sat. Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
Aug 29, Mon. Progress report submission – supervisors
SEPTEMBER 2016
Sept 5, Mon. Short pre-session begins (till September 9, Friday)
Departmental orientation (with Head, MA and PhD directors) 9.00 AM
Sept 9, Fri. Welcome afternoon for all departments
Sept 12, Mon. Zero week begins (till September 16)
Zero Week: a period for 1st year students to get familiar with the academic programs, electives etc. This is also when any outstanding issues related to settling down in Budapest are handled.
Registration for fall term begins (till October 2, Sunday)
Sept 16, Fri. Zero week ends
3.00 PM Opening Ceremony
Sept 19, Mon. Fall term begins (till December 9, Friday)
Sept 23, Fri. Departmental Doctoral Committee evaluates the progress reports
Sept 29, Thu. Reminder to MA students to start to prepare an application package in case they want to apply to grad school
OCTOBER 2016
Oct 2, Sun. Registration for fall term ends
Oct 23, Sun. Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
Oct 24, Mon. Study plan submission (2nd and 3rd year PhD students)
Doctoral Committee assigns advisors (1st year PhD students) – set up dates for monthly meetings
Oct 26, Wed. PhD Travel, PhD Research Grant application deadline
Oct 28,  Fri. Erasmus (Faculty & Staff Mobility) second round deadline
Oct 31, Mon. Special day off, CEU is officially closed
NOVEMBER 2016
Nov 1, Tue. All Saints’ Day / CEU is officially closed
Nov 3, Thu. Academic Forum
Nov 4-5, Fri-Sat. Annual CEU In-House Graduate Philosophy Conference.
Nov 7, Mon. Departments to submit schedule and cross-listed courses for winter term
Nov 21, Mon. Submission of MA thesis title and abstract (0.5-1 page)
List of three potential MA supervisors
DECEMBER 2016
Dec 5, Mon. Registration for winter term begins (till January 15, Sunday)
University Town Hall meeting
Dec 9, Fri. Fall term ends
Dec 19-23,
Mon-Fri.
Offices w. skeleton team Library and Labs: weekend schedule
Dec 24, Sat. Christmas Eve / CEU is officially closed
Dec 25-26,
Sun-Mon.
Christmas Day / CEU is officially closed
Dec 27-30,
Tue-Fri.
Offices w. skeleton team Library and Labs: weekend schedule
Dec 31, Sat. New Year’s Eve / CEU is officially closed
JANUARY 2017
Jan 1, Sun. New Year’s Day / CEU is officially closed
Jan 2, Mon. Deadline for submitting fall term course work/essays (midnight CET)
Jan 9, Mon. Winter term begins (till March 31, Friday)
1 grade penalty for late course work/essay submission (midnight CET)
Jan 11, Wed. 1st year PhD students: Deadline for submitting the title and topic of First Year Paper
Jan 13, Fri. 2 grades penalty / final deadline of late course work/essay submission (midnight CET)
Jan 15, Sun. Registration for winter term ends
Deadline for the submission of fall term grades
Jan 23, Mon. 9.00 AM (CET) Deadline for submitting a formal research proposal of at least 2500 words for MA students’ theses
Jan 31, Tue. Erasmus + Faculty Mobility third round deadline for AY 2016-17
Erasmus + Staff Mobility third round deadline for AY 2016-17
FEBRUARY 2017
Feb 7, Tue. Deadline to meet and discuss the MA research proposal with the superviso
Feb 10, Fri. MA Travel Grant application deadline
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline
Feb 14-15, Tue-Wed. Career Days & Career Fair at CEU
Feb 16, Thu. Provost open house meeting with CEU masters and non-degree students
Feb 18, Fri. Provost open house meeting with CEU doctoral students
Feb 23, Thu. Academic Forum
Feb 28, Tue. Erasmus + Study Mobility application deadline for AY 2017-18
MARCH 2017
Mar 6, Mon. Departments to submit schedule and cross-listed courses for spring term to Student Records Office
Mar 13, Mon. Probationary PhD Candidates: Submission of First Year Paper draft (cc. 2500 words)
Mar 15, Wed. Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
Mar 20, Mon. Registration for spring term begins (till April 9, Sunday)
Mar 31, Fri. Winter term ends
APRIL 2017
Apr 3, Mon. Spring Term begins (till June 16, Friday)
Apr 9, Sun. Registration for spring term ends
Apr 14, Fri Good Friday / CEU is officially closed
Apr 16, Sun. Easter Sunday / CEU is officially closed
Apr 17, Mon. Easter Monday / CEU is officially closed
Apr 24, Mon. Deadline for submitting winter term course work/essay (midnight CET)
MAY 2017
May 1, Mon. Labor day / CEU is officially closed
May 2, Tue. 1 grade penalty and final deadline for late course work/essay submission (midnight CET)
Submission of the at least 4000-word long partial draft of the MA thesis (midnight CET)
May 4, Thu. Academic Forum
May 5, Fri. Departments to submit the list of courses for the Academic Year 2017-18 to the Student Records Office
Departments to start negotiations on cross-listing agreements (until May 19, Friday)
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline
MA Travel Grant application deadline
May 7, Sun. Deadline for submission of winter term grades
May 8, Mon. Evaluation of the at least 4000-word MA thesis partial draft as either "all right" or "problematic". The result is communicated to the MA director and the student. (No one will be disqualified from passing to the defense phase at this point, neither will the evaluation of the first draft affect the final grade.)
May 16, Tue. 1.00 PM (CET) Submission of a full draft of MA theses
1.00 PM (CET) Submission of a full draft of First Year Paper (ca. 10.000 words) and Thesis Plan (2-3 pp.) due only to coordinator and advisor (can be revised by student and advisor for another 10 days)
May 19, Fri. Departments to submit the list of courses including cross-listed courses for the Academic Year 2017-2018 to the SRO
Deadline for start scheduling courses for Fall Term 2017-2018
May 22, Mon. Supervisors decide whether an MA student may pass to the June defense phase
May 29, Mon. 1.00 PM (CET) Final version First Year Paper and Thesis Plan (due to coordinator and advisors and to be sent out to readers)
May 31, Wed. 1.00 PM (CET) Final MA thesis submission.
JUNE 2017
Jun 4, Sun. Pentecost Sunday / CEU is officially closed
Jun 5, Mon. Pentecost Monday / CEU is officially closed
Jun 6, Tue. Grade for first year paper due from 1st and 2nd readers. (Only students whose GPA is 3.00 (i.e. B) or higher go to the Comprehensive Exam, and the GPA is calculated from the grades received for the coursework (2/3) and the First Year Paper (1/3).
Jun 7-9, Wed-Fri. Two year MA first year exams 
Jun 12-16, Mon-Fri. MA defenses
Jun 14, Wed. Departments to submit final schedule including cross-listed courses for Fall Term 2017-2018 to the Student Records Office, to post the schedules on departments' website and to update the course information on the website
Jun 16, Fri. Spring Term ends
Jun 19, Mon. Probationary PhD candidates’ comprehensive exam
Jun 23, Fri. GRADUATION CEREMONY
Jun 30, Fri. Erasmus+ Faculty Mobility 2017-2018 – first round
Erasmus+ Staff Mobility 2017-2018 – first round
JULY 2017
Jul 3, Mon. Summer University begins
Jul 14, Fri. Final deadline for all course grades for academic year 2016-17
Jul 28, Fri. Progress report submission – advanced doctoral students
Jul 31, Mon. Academic year ends