Academic Calendar 2017/18

ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2017–2018

Including Departmental Deadlines for both MA and PhD students
all times are CET

August 2017

August 1, Tuesday Academic Year begins
August 20, Sunday Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
August 31, Thursday Doctoral Candidates: Progress Report submission 2nd and 3rd Year Doctoral Candidates: End-of-the-year written-work submission

September 2017

September 4, Monday Short pre-session begins (till September 8, Friday)
September 8, Friday Welcome afternoon for all departments
September 11, Monday Zero week begins (till September 15, Friday)
Zero Week: a period for 1st year students to get familiar with the academic programs, electives etc. This is also when any outstanding issues related to settling down in Budapest are handled. Departmental orientation for incoming students (with Head, MA and PhD directors and coordinators) 9.00 a.m. Nádor 13/301
Registration for fall term begins (till October 1, Sunday)
September 15, Friday 3.00 p.m. Opening Ceremony
September 18, Monday Fall Term begins (till December 8, Friday)
September 22, Friday Departmental Doctoral Committee evaluates the progress reports
September 29, Friday Reminder to MA students to start to prepare an application package in case they want to apply to grad school

October 2017

October 1, Sunday Registration for fall term ends
October 6, Friday MA Travel Grant application deadline
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline
October 13–14, Fri–Sat Annual CEU In-House Graduate Philosophy Conference
October 23, Monday Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
October 24, Tuesday 2nd and 3rd year Doctoral Candidates: Study plan submission Doctoral Committee assigns advisors to 1st year Probationary Doctoral Candidates
October 28, Friday Erasmus+ Faculty & Staff Mobility second round
deadline for AY 2017–18

November 2017

November 1, Wednesday All Saints’ Day / CEU is officially closed
November 2, Thursday Provost open-house meeting with CEU masters and nondegree
students
November 3, Friday Provost open-house meeting with CEU doctoral students
November 6, Monday Departments to submit schedule and cross-listed
courses for winter term to the Students Record Office
November 9, Thursday Academic Forum
November 20, Monday Submission of MA thesis title and abstract (0.5–1 page)
and list of three potential MA supervisors

December 2017

December 4, Monday Registration for winter term begins (till January 14,
Sunday)
December 8, Friday Fall Term ends
December 18–22 Offices w. skeleton team Library and Labs: weekend
schedule
December 24–26, Sun–Tue Christmas / CEU is officially closed
December 27–30 Offices w. skeleton team, Library and Labs: weekend
schedule
December 31, Sunday New Year’s Eve / CEU is officially closed

January 2018

January 1, Monday New Year’s Day / CEU is officially closed
January 2, Tuesday Deadline for submitting fall term course work/essays
(midnight)
January 8, Monday Winter Term begins (till March 30, Friday)
1 grade penalty & final deadline of late course
work/essay submission (midnight)
January 14, Sunday Registration for winter term ends
Deadline for the submission of fall term grades
January 15, Monday 1st year Probationary Doctoral Candidates: Deadline for
submitting the title and topic of First-Year Paper
January 22, Monday 9.00 a.m. Deadline for submitting a formal research
proposal of at least 2500 words for MA students’ theses
January 31, Wednesday Erasmus+ Faculty & Staff Mobility third round deadline
for AY 2017–18

Februray 2018

February 9, Friday Deadline to meet and discuss the MA research proposal with the supervisor
February 15, Thursday Provost open house meeting with CEU masters and non-degree students
February 16, Friday Provost open house meeting with CEU doctoral students
February 22, Thursday Academic Forum
February 28, Wednesday Erasmus+ Study Mobility application deadline for AY 2018–19

March 2018

March 5, Monday Departments to submit schedule and cross-listed courses for spring term to Student Records Office
March 12, Monday Probationary Doctoral Candidates: Submission of First-Year Paper draft (cc. 2500 words)
March 14, Wednesday MA Travel Grant application deadline
PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline
March 15, Thursday Hungarian National Holiday / CEU is officially closed
March 16, Friday Special day off / CEU is officially closed
March 19, Monday Registration for spring term begins (till April 8, Sunday)
March 30, Friday Winter Term ends

April 2018

April 1, Sunday Easter Sunday / CEU is officially closed
April 2, Monday Easter Monday / CEU is officially closed
April 3, Tuesday Spring Term begins (till June 15, Friday)
April 5, Thursday University Town Hall meeting
April 8, Sunday Registration for spring term ends
April 23, Monday Deadline for submitting winter term course work/essay (midnight)
April 30, Monday Special day off / CEU is officially closed

May 2018

May 1, Tuesday Labor Day / CEU is officially closed
May 2, Wednesday Submission of the at least 4000-word long partial draft of the MA thesis (midnight)
May 3, Thursday Academic Forum
May 4, Friday Departments to submit the list of courses for the Academic Year 2018–19 to the Student Records Office
Departments to start negotiations on cross-listing agreements (until May 18, Friday)
May 6, Sunday Deadline for submission of winter term grades
May 7, Monday Evaluation of the at least 4000-word long MA thesis draft as either "all right" or "problematic". The result is communicated to the MA director and the student. (No one will be disqualified from passing to the defense phase at this point, neither will the evaluation of the first draft affect the final grade.)
May 14, Monday 1.00 p.m. Submission of a full draft of MA theses
1.00 p.m. Submission of a full draft of PhD First-Year Paper (ca.10.000 words) and Thesis Plan (2-3 pp.) due only to coordinator and advisors
May 18, Friday Departments to submit the list of courses including cross-listed courses for the Academic Year 2018–19 to the SRO
Deadline for start scheduling courses for fall term 2018–19
May 20, Sunday Pentecost Sunday / CEU is officially closed
May 21 Monday Pentecost Monday / CEU is officially closed
May 22, Tuesday Supervisors decide whether an MA student may pass to the June defense phase
May 25, Friday Departments and schools to submit schedule of mandatory courses for fall term 2018–19

June 2018

June 1, Friday Deadline for submission of all grades of graduating students
June 4, Monday 1.00 p.m. Final version of First-Year Paper and Thesis Plan (due to coordinator and advisors and to be sent out to readers)
1.00 p.m. Final MA theses submission
June 5, Tuesday PhD Research and Travel Grants application deadline
MA Travel Grant application deadline
June 6–8, Wed–Fri Two-year MA first-year exams
June 11–15, Mon–Fri MA defenses
June 13, Wednesday Departments to submit final schedule including cross-listed courses for fall term 2017–18 to the Student Records Office, to post the schedules on departments’ website and to update the course information on the website
June 14, Thursday Grade for First-Year Paper due from 1st and 2nd readers. (Only students whose GPA is 3.00 (i.e. B) or higher go to the Comprehensive Exam, and the GPA is calculated from the grades received for the coursework (2/3) and the First-Year Paper (1/3).
June 15, Friday Spring Term ends
June 18, Monday Probationary Doctoral Candidates’ comprehensive exam
June 22, Friday Graduation Ceremony
June 29, Friday Erasmus+ Faculty & Staff Mobility first round deadline for AY 2018–19

July 2018

July 2, Monday Summer University begins
July 13, Friday Final deadline for all course grades for academic year 2017–18
July 31, Monday Academic Year ends

August 2018

August 31, Friday Doctoral Candidates: Progress Report submission 2nd and 3rd Year Doctoral Candidates: End-of-the-year written work submission