Academic Calendars

Download the full calendar in PDF at the bottom of the page.

DECEMBER 2020

 
December 8, Tuesday
Immaculate Conception Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed           
 
December 14, Monday
Registration for winter term begins
 
December 18, Friday
Fall Term ends
 
December 24–26, Thu-Sat
Christmas / CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
 
December 31, Thursday
New Year’s Eve / CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
 

JANUARY 2021

 
January 1, Friday
New Year’s Day / CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
 
January 6, Wednesday
Epiphany Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed
 
January 7, Thursday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
 
January 11, Monday
Winter Term begins
Registration for winter term ends (During week 1, students may add/drop courses with the permission of HoD)
 
Submission of revised thesis abstract (0.5-1 page), including 5-15 core reference to be used
 
January 12, Tuesday
First MA thesis seminar meeting
 
January 17, Sunday
Add/drop period ends
 
January 18, Monday
1st year Probationary Doctoral Candidates: Deadline for submitting the title and topic of First-Year Paper
 
January 22, Friday
Deadline for the submission of Fall Term grades
 
January 25, Monday
Midnight CET, Deadline for submitting a formal research proposal of at least 2500 words for MA students’ theses
 
Deadline to meet and discuss the MA research proposal with the supervisor
 

MARCH 2021

 
March 4, Thursday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
 
March 15, Monday
Hungarian National holiday, CEU Budapest is closed
 
March 15, Monday
Registration for Spring term begins
 

APRIL 2021

 
April 2, Friday
Winter term ends
Good Friday/CEU Budapest is officially closed
 
April 4-5, Sun-Mon
Easter/CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
 
April 6, Tuesday
Spring Term begins
 
April 11, Sunday
Registration for Spring Term ends
 
April 12, Monday
Submission of the at least 4000-word long partial draft of the MA thesis (midnight CEST)
 
April 19, Monday
Evaluation of the at least 4000-word long MA thesis draft as either "all right" or "problematic"
 
April 22, Thursday
Deadline for submitting coursework
 
April 29, Thursday
1 grade penalty and final deadline for submitting coursework
 

MAY 2021

May 1, Saturday
Labor Day / CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
May 10, Monday
Deadline for the submission of winter term grades
May 10, Monday
1.00PM CEST Submission of a full draft of MA theses
May 13, Thursday
Ascension Day CEU Vienna is officially closed
May 17, Monday
Supervisors decide whether an MA student may pass to the June defense phase
May 17, Monday
1.00PM CEST Submission of a full draft of PhD First-Year Paper (ca.10.000 words) and Thesis Plan (2–3 pp.) due only to coordinator and advisors
May 21, Friday
Deadline for MA students to send Metaphysics, Ethics and Philosophy of Language exam papers to the departmental coordinator
May 23 – May 24 Sun-Mon
Pentecost Sunday and Monday / CEU Budapest and CEU Vienna are officially closed
May 31, Monday
1.00PM CEST Final MA theses submission

JUNE 2021

June 1, Tuesday
Research and Travel Grants application deadline (students)
June 3, Thursday
Corpus Christi Day, CEU Vienna is officially closed
June 4, Friday
Deadline for MA core courses (Early Modern Philosophy, Continental Philosophy, Epistemology and Ancient Philosophy) exam papers to the departmental coordinator
June 7-11, Mon-Fri
MA defenses
June 7, Monday
1.00PM CEST Final version of First-Year Paper and Thesis Plan (due to coordinator and advisors and to be sent out to readers)
June 11, Friday
Deadline for submission of spring term grades for graduating students
June 18, Friday
Spring Term ends
COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY
June 21, Monday
Probationary Doctoral Candidates’ comprehensive exam
June 21, Monday
Summer University in Budapest begins

JULY 2021

July 9, Friday
Final deadline for all course grades for academic year 2020–21
July 31, Saturday
Academic Year ends